New Year New Adventure

It is amazing how quickly a year can pass.  At times it can seem like time won’t pass quick enough (like the first day of a new school year), but most of the time it flies by.  Within this year I have had many adventures and fun memories!  For instance, all the weddings I was able to be in and celebrate!

I was able watch my Brother get married!  Part of me never thought that would happen!  Ha!  We danced the night away with family and friends!  I don’t get to spend a whole lot of time with family living in Alaska so the wedding was a great time to see and laugh with my family!

I was also fortunate enough to get to stand next to my childhood BFF for her wedding!  It was so great reminiscing and being able to catch up with some of my best friends!  I also was so fortunate to have the hottest date of all!  Thanks Hilary!  From watching the sunrise behind the Arch to posing with firemen, the day was full of unforgettable memories!

The final wedding I was able to be my mom’s date!  It was her best friend’s daughter’s wedding.

In June 2016 I also got to go to Florida to soak in some rays with family and friends!  Sometimes you just can’t beat some fun in the hot Florida sun!

This year was great for Photography!  In 2016 I was able to have an incredible summer full of spectacular trips around Alaska including going to Homer, Lake Clark, Katmai, Denali, Seward, and everywhere along the way to these beautiful Alaskan towns.  I also had fun photographing and creating another 3 White B*tches Calendar!

One of the biggest accomplishments of 2016 was Josh and my 5 year wedding anniversary.  Marriage is definitely not always easy, but having such a great, easy going, and helpful husband can make even the hard times manageable.  We had a blast camping in Denali on our 5th Anniversary.

To also celebrate the 5 year milestone, we took a special trip up to Kaktovik, Alaska to see Polar Bears!  One of the most incredible, beautiful, and fun trip I have ever been on!

I was able to finish out the year in style by having my mom come up and celebrate Christmas with us!  Holidays can be really hard living so far away from family, so it was such a treat getting to have her up here with us.  She got to see the Aurora, go cross country skiing, dog sledding, make snow-angels (well kinda), get driven to the airport in a Fairbanks blizzard, and even got to see two moose in our yard! A pretty successful trip if you ask me!

Although I have had the opportunity to have so many grand adventures and fun in 2016, we did have a few setbacks.  The biggest of course was Boone passing.   He was a large part of our family and not a day goes by I don’t wish he was still with us.  I know he is up in heaven smiling and panting at us!

boone-october-12-2013-15-2

I hope 2017 will bring more laughs, loves, hugs, and fun memories.  I hope you all had a great 2016 and have an even better 2017!  I know we are setting ours up for at least another adventure right off the bat.  Meet Elias!  If I can help this puppy be half as great as a dog as Boone was, my resolution will be accomplished!  Nali is super excited to get another brother dog that she can play with anytime she wants!

Why the name Elias?  Well our Samoyed Nali is named after Denali, the tallest mountain of Alaska and after Denali National Park.  Elias is going to be named after Mount Saint Elias, the second tallest mountain and after Wrangell St. Elias National Park.  Right now Elias is only 7 weeks old and we plan on picking him up as soon as he is 8 weeks!  More photos to follow!

Health and Happiness to all in 2017!

img_9458

Leave a Reply

